My former neighbor’s father died suddenly this week, and I’ve been thinking about him, as well as feeling such grief for my friend and her family.  This guy was an unforgettable character, larger than life and full of life.  I would always smile when I noticed his old white car in the parking lot, because he would often drive up from Florida to Atlanta, just for a weekend, to see his grandchildren.  In his early seventies, with white hair and beard, he was sprightly and slim, friendly and easygoing.  He’d have a kayak tied on top of the little SUV, and always had a project or an outing planned for his grandson.  When his granddaughter was born, the man was absolutely gaga for this little girl.  I just watched a video that was made in May, of him and the kids, that was so incredibly sweet, and illustrated his love for those kids and his (favorite) daughter, his ability to be fully in the present, and his generous and kind nature.  My eyes teared up, and I gave a silent homage to a very good man.