Even though I have enjoyed practicing nursing for 37 years, with only a couple of unsatisfactory positions, still I feel the urge to do SOMETHING DIFFERENT.  It seems my next job will be somewhat of a departure from previous work, though still in the realm of nursing, and I’m looking forward to starting work on Monday.

When I moved to Atlanta five years ago, it was on the heels of having spent time volunteering at a nonprofit community art gallery, and I LOVED working with staff, hanging around paintings, helping set up exhibits.  I even sold a couple of paintings from the collection, an incredible and humbling experience.  I had the idea that I would start up a gallery in Atlanta, one that would show works of new artists and incorporate opportunities for kids to make art.  Unfortunately, the recession meant that galleries everywhere were in trouble and it was no time to try such a venture.

I wonder if the dream will ever be possible, this idea that lives in the back of my mind.

Meanwhile, I do my small part to create beauty in the world.  Our group just completed a mixed-media book with the theme “recipes” and the books turned out splendidly.  Each has cover art from a French calendar of vintage labels, and the pages feature folded paper, family recipes, rich textures, bright and bold colors, original photos.  My son looked the book over, and wanted to eat foods made from the pages for the next thirty days!  The next book’s focus will be “what I love,” and people hungry to create art are already conceptualizing pages to contribute.  I’ve participated in several books now: spirituality, botanicals, and poetry, and have made some altered books, too.  This kind of folk art suits and nurtures me, an unschooled artist, though I long to have had an art education.

Guess I’ll keep making books, taking photographs, browsing art galleries, looking for powerful images wherever I can.  I know my vision is unique and sharing it with my little world is a privilege.