Working sure does take up a lot of time, time I might be spending writing.  But it pays the bills and I’m thankful for my wonderful job.  I work with some bright, kind, conscientious people who inspire me to excellence.  This old dog is learning some new tricks, on a very steep learning curve, and loving every minute of it.

But I miss my little blog and sharing the mundane details of my profoundly ordinary existence.  Guess I could quickly update what’s happ’nin.

Both the gingko and dogwood trees are doing well, in spite of this wickedly dry and hot summer.  Of course, I water them EVERY week as instructed.  Also watering potted plants EVERY DAY and enjoying the blooms.  NES came along and demolished the fence row between me and Ruby, and that’s now a work in progress. I.E. a huge mess.  I envision climbing roses all along the fence and more flower gardens, now that sun can get to the back corner.  My other neighbor is also in the process of major yard cleanup and even trimmed the huge poplar that overhangs a little village of crepe myrtles between our driveways.  They will really appreciate the breathing room.  And they are badly in need of trimming, but I’m too short.

The cicadas’ visitation was dramatic, noisy, and so very interesting.  I don’t miss them, though.  Thirteen years will be a nice break.  Think what we might all be doing by then.

Let’s see, concert forecast:   The Devil Makes Three tonight, later on KD Lang, Bruce Cockburn, Bluebird on the Mountain in October with six of our best friends.  Possible trip to Hawaii at years’ end.  And CALIFORNIA! in August with the family, including the bonus of a visit with Susana, one of my Vermont darlings.

The Bells Bend CSA is providing me with a very sufficient quantity of lovely organic veggies.  It is good to eat local, in season, healthy food.  I’d do it again.  It’s also good to see youngsters who embrace the land and love farming.  They are a wonderful group of hardworking kids.  Their mommas should be proud.

It’s almost two years since we lost Ben Koomen, and it remains painful and tragic and hard to accept.  Betsy and I cry together still, and talk about him, and worry over Scotty, and the rest of the boys, who hurt too.  Tristan got his memorial tattoo for Ben last week in Taiwan, and I think all our tats are powerful symbols of our everlasting love and honor for him.

Doug and I will be together for a year pretty soon (if he doesn’t break up with me before next week) hahaha!!!  I’m still kind of amazed that it’s working–we couldn’t BE more different if we tried.  He earned the thumbs up from my old friend Lee who visited a few weeks ago.

Now I gotta go vacuum up dog hair.  Which reminds me to say that Rumer is slowing down dramatically, and is nearly deaf and blind.  She doesn’t hear me come in the door at the end of the day and has given me a fright more than once by not moving a muscle till I make my presence known.  Big sigh of relief.  I’m not ready; as you all know, she’s the best dog ever.